As a student-led event, the EX4DEV team is composed of PhD students and Academic Advisers from various backgrounds and institutions, all sharing a common interest in understanding how we can help in Harnessing the Extractive Industries for Development. 


EX4DEV17 Event Manager

Josh Sandin Josh Photo

Josh is an ESRC-funded PhD student at Royal Holloway, University of London, whose research focuses on informality and finance within artisanal and small-scale mining in sub-Saharan Africa. Having been part of last year’s EX4DEV16 organising committee, he took the lead on EX4DEV17.


EX4DEV16 Event Manager 

James McQuilkenJames Profile.png

James is an ESRC-funded PhD student at the University of Surrey, whose research focuses on artisanal and small-scale mining and mineral certification in sub-Saharan Africa. Having led last year’s event, James helped get EX4DEV17 off the ground and continues to help guide the event.


EX4DEV17 Student Organising Committee

James McQuilken, University of Surrey

Allison Lindner, University of Kent

Terry Garde, Middlesex University

Paul Fenton Villar, University of East Anglia


EX4DEV16 Student Organising Committee 

Josh Sandin, Royal Holloway, University of London

Angélique Gatsinzi, University of Surrey

Suleman Dauda, University of Surrey

EX4DEV16 Team A



The event organisers, Joshua Sandin and James McQuilken, would like to thank the Economic and Social Research Council for their continued funding of the event via their South-East Doctoral Training Centre. Further thanks go to the panellists, presenters and delegates for their participation and impassioned discussions. We would also like to thank everyone who couldn’t make it to the event, but took an interest along the way and helped shape it. Further thanks are extended to everyone behind the scenes at Royal Holloway and the University of Surrey for supporting the organisation and delivery of the events. Finally, we would like to thank Professor Gavin Hilson and Dr Abby Hilson for their continued guidance throughout EX4DEV17 and EX4DEV16, which without all of this would have not been made possible.